News Article

Academic Awards

On Thursday 26th April, Aston students & staff spent the evening at Conference Aston, celebrating the Aston Students’ Union Academic Awards in partnership with CLIPP. The event was a celebration of the outstanding work that Aston staff & Student Reps put in to make the Aston experience more rewarding for all students.

Up until last year, the awards were called the Astonishing Academic Awards, but this year, they were given a rebrand, with a stylish new logo and a name change. Another important change this year was including awards for Student Representatives.

There were ten categories in this year’s awards – and three people were shortlisted in each category. The categories, and shortlisted nominees, were:

Engaging Teaching

Michael Butler

Martin Brenncke

Adam Shaw-Mellors

Non-Academic Staff

James Duggins

David Millward

Laura McHugh

Ali Syed

Feedback & Development

Dr Mark Prince

Dr Timothy Whitehead

Dr Jo Lumsden

Staff-Student Collaboration

Helen Ordidge

Karim Kirollos

Dr Sylvia Wong

Personal Tutor

Adam Shaw-Mellors

Dr Jo Lumsden

Dr Gary Fooks

Student Reps: Outstanding Contribution

Amy Bloom

Alex Ankon Sarker

Helen O’Connor

Michael Pritchard

Technology & Innovation

Dr Yulan He

Dr Neil Shepherd

Student Reps: Change Award

Farah Nawaz

Qian Zhang

Kwadwo Ampofo

Research & Dissertation Supervisor

Dr Joanne Taylor

Dr Mark C.M. Dunne

Dr Richard Martin

Student Reps: Teamwork Award

Amardeep Haire, Abdullah Alzkeri & Melissa Venegas Vallejos

Tienne Oates & Tom Flowers

Simon Kessel, Zachary Sotuminu & Helen O’Connor

Vice President Education Amna Atteeq started the evening with a speech on the importance of the awards, and talked about how the nomination process for the awards worked:

“…all nominations have been submitted by students and the shortlisting and final winner decision have all been done by students. When shortlisting all nominations were anonymised to ensure that decisions were made on the quality of nominations instead of the quantity. I wanted to move away from the idea of a popularity contest, and recognise those who make a real difference.”

Amna Atteeq (Vice President Education (2017-18))

Dr Frank Eperjesi, Dean of the Centre for Learning Innovation & Professional Practice (CLIPP), spoke about how the awards are a brilliant example of collaboration & partnership between the University & the Students’ Union, and between staff & students.

Engaging Teaching

Adam Shaw-Mellors (Winner)

Martin Brenncke (Commendation)

Non-Academic Staff

Laura McHugh (Winner)

Ali Syed (Commendation)

Feedback & Development

Dr Timothy Whitehead (Winner)

Staff-Student Collaboration

Karim Kirollos (Winner)

Personal Tutor

Dr Gary Fooks (Winner)

Student Reps: Outstanding Contribution

Alex Ankon Sarker (Winner)

Helen O’Connor (Commendation)

Technology & Innovation

Dr Yulan He (Winner)

Student Reps: Change Award

Kwadwo Ampofo (Winner)

Research & Dissertation Supervisor

Dr Joanne Taylor (Winner)

Student Reps: Teamwork Award

Tienne Oates & Tom Flowers (Winners)

Attendees enjoyed a three course meal and had the opportunity to chat with other nominees and guests. The sense of community & partnership between students, the Students’ Union, & University staff was an inspiration to all, and we look forward to seeing our partnership strengthen over the coming years as we welcome Ifti Hussain as next year’s Vice President Education.


More News

To be opened in 2068

Mon 30 Apr 2018

From this to this...

Wed 11 Apr 2018


Tue 10 Apr 2018